Tradition: Hinduism



It is believed in the Hindu tradition that God emerges in three aspects: Brahma (the creator of the world), Vishnu (the preserver) and Shiva (the destroyer). These three cosmic forms of divinity have also got their representation in the sounds of this mantra: F, C and B.


Do to the others what you would like to be done to you.
Lokah – the place where we all are
Samastah – regarding all the living beings
Sukhino – bringing joy and happiness as we set ourselves free from suffering
Bhavantu – opening the path to illumination for all the creatures


This mantra is considered as the mantra of power. Its recitation separates us from our individual ‘I’ directing our love and compassion toward the world surrounding us. At the same time it keeps reminding us that as a part of Universe we can impact it in a positive way.

Try 30s

Choose one of digital music streaming services and listen up

‘Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu’ is considered to be a mantra of power, chanting it keeps us away from our individual ‘I’, directing all our love and compassion towards the world surrounding us. At the same time it keeps reminding us that, being a part of the Universe, we have the power to impact it in a positive way. Many contemporary interpreters of this mantra believe that the sentence perfectly explaining its meaning is: ‘Do everything you would like to have been done to you.’
Its most basic phrase consists of four Sanskrit words believed to have several meanings building coherent praying narrative:
Lokah means a place where we all are right now. However it is not only about focusing our awareness on the vastness of Space containing uncountable Universes. Above all else it is about our presence here and now.
Samastah refers to all the living creatures connected by the thread coming from the Source. That is how we abandon all the illusions of separation.
Sukhino brings joy and happiness we can experience if only we can set ourselves free from suffering. It is also admitting that all the living creatures have the same right to freedom so our own freedom cannot limit any other creature’s freedom.
Bhavantu opens up the path to Illumination for all the living creatures, making it possible if only we can get rid of all the suffering and illusion of separation. This word contains the promise too. It is a kind of call we can understand as: ‘May it be!’
In the Hindu tradition it is believed that God reveals itself in Trimutri – three aspects – in the form of Brahma (creator of the world), Vishnu (the preserver) and Shiva (the destroyer of the world). These three cosmic forms of divinity have also its reflection in certain double sounds. F and Cis refer to Brahma, F and C to Vishnu, while F and B to Shiva. These are the sounds present in the base of ‘Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu’ mantra.
The next component of the mantra, ‘Om Shanti, Shanti, Shanti’, is also based on these sounds. This phrase is being used not only as a mantra but also as a greeting after finished meditation or prayer. It consists of two components. The opening one is Om – a mystical syllable representing basic and primal sound of Cosmos, while at the same time pointing at Atman (our individual self and soul) and Brahman (ultimate divine cosmic reality transcending our personal self).
Whenever we chant Om we build the bridge between what is human and individual and what is cosmic and divine. This type of connection may be used to climb toward spiritual unity with divinity and setting ourselves free from all the suffering. Om is the beginning and end of everything – from the Universe to the sentences known from the Upanishads.
The Om syllable is often accompanied by the Sanskrit word ‘Shanti’ meaning the all-embracing peace (calmness) and bliss. Whenever this word appears in a triple recitation it means three forms of peace: the peace of mind, tongue and physical body.